Certificate IV Competitive Systems and Practices

MSS40316 Certificate IV in Competitive Systems and Practices

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge required by a team leader or other person to implement competitive systems and practices in the work of a team or work group, or by a specialist in competitive systems and practices.

The skills in this qualification are often known in industry under a variety of titles many of which relate to manufacturing which is the origin of many competitive systems and practices. The most common term is Lean manufacturing. However, other names for some of the system skills and techniques include agile manufacturing, Lean operations, six sigma, Lean six sigma, and so on.


The primary application of this qualification is where an individual has responsibility for leading and implementing competitive systems and practices in a work area or in the work of a team. The qualification also applies to individuals who act as technical resource personnel for others in the implementation of competitive systems and practices. The emphasis in the qualification is on leading and implementing competitive systems and practices as well as applying the competencies to one’s own work.

This qualification provides competitive systems and practices skills that can be applied in the following organisations and environments:
•   manufacturing enterprises
•   mining and service organisations
•   office environments
•   organisations in a value chain, such as:
–   suppliers
–   customers
–   distributors, warehouses, transport suppliers and other logistics support organisations
–   professional service suppliers, for example, legal, engineering, accounting, auditing, and education and training suppliers that may be assisting other organisations in implementing competitive systems and practices
–   other organisations implementing competitive systems and practices eg. Government Departments, healthcare providers, transport organisations, etc.

Pathways into the qualification

This qualification is suitable for either direct entry or progression from the MSS20316 Certificate II in Competitive Systems and Practices or MSS30316 Certificate III in Competitive Systems and Practices.

Pathways from the qualification

Further training pathways from this qualification include the MSS50316 Diploma of Competitive Systems and Practices.

Packaging rules

To be awarded the MSS40316 Certificate IV in Competitive Systems and Practices, competency must be achieved in twelve (12) Units of Competency.

The Units of Competency will be mapped against two projects in the action learning program, one will be undertaken at the participant’s company (home) and one project will be undertaken at another participating company (away). Following a Five Day Workshop series at each location, participants will be required to implement the recommendations for the home project.